posasebo.blogg.se

Sql server connection string network library
Sql server connection string network library








sql server connection string network library
  1. #Sql server connection string network library code
  2. #Sql server connection string network library password
  3. #Sql server connection string network library windows

#Sql server connection string network library code

The ODBC control panel and SSMS might be using the SQL Browser service to hook you to the right instance but your code might not so I would test connecting to the instance using the telnet command. Any other instances will be running on another port which is dynamically assigned (by default). Remember you can only have one SQL Server instance running on the default port of 1433. The other option is to specify the IP address and port instead of the server name and instance name which you would do like this Data Source=190.190.200.100,1433 This ensures it is using TCP/IP instead of named pipes. I would try adding the Network Library=DBMSSOCN onto your connection string. It uses the same method I'm trying to use in my application. Here is the application I made to try to connect to the database. I am trying to add the database to an existing SQL Server instance if that matters. I really need to get this working and come to an understanding of what is involved in the setup. I'm really not sure what the problem can be at this point, so I greatly appreciate any help or ideas.

#Sql server connection string network library password

So, I know that it is using SQL Server authentication and that my user name and password are right. I am trying to connect to a database on another machine.Īnd in order to connect to this SQL Server on our server in SQL Server Management Studio, I do need to use a username and password. It works for SQL Server 2008 on the local computer, but it does not work for a SQL Server 2000 database on the local machine OR on the server. This is the same method I'm using to connect to the database and pull data. I created a sample project for anyone that is interested in looking at it. I honestly don't know what the difference could possibly be and it's beginning to frustrate me. But when I try to connect to the database with my application it fails every time.

sql server connection string network library

I can even go into ODBC in the Control Panel and see the databases associated to a SQL Server, etc. But I can connect to the database, see the database structure and data and everything from SQL Server Management Studio no problem.

#Sql server connection string network library windows

Thanks again for your help, it's greatly appreciated.Ĭan you connect to the SQL Server instance using Enterprise Manager or any other app? If you can then maybe SQL Server is set to only use Windows Athentication. So, I definitely want to learn this, but can't seem to get this working at this point. I'm trying to learn SQL as I go as I've only used Access previously and that's a bit easier to connect to. Do I need a different using for SQL Server 2000 or something? I really hope that someone might be able to help me with this, because I'm really at a loss and have no idea what to do here. Now, I don't really know what I could possibly be doing wrong here. Now, that didn't work, so I put the SQL 2000 database on my computer and tried to connect to that like this (Which did not work):ĭata Source=.\SQLEXPRESS AttachDBFilename=C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Data\Project2000.mdf Integrated Security=True Connect Timeout=30 User Instance=True Now, the SQL Server on the database requires a username and password so I tried this connection string for that (Which did not work) I changed the password.:ĭata Source=SERVER\MSSQLServer Initial Catalog=Project2000 User Id=sa Password=password This is the connection string I've been using for the SQL 2008 database on MY machine (Which works):ĭata Source=.\SQLEXPRESS AttachDBFilename=C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Data\Project.mdf Integrated Security=True Connect Timeout=30 User Instance=True So, I was really hoping that someone on here that might know more than I do could help me figure out why I can't connect to this database. And connecting to the server is proving to be a big problem as well. My problem though is that even on my own machine any connection string I use won't work. I have it working with a SQL Server 2008 database on my computer, but the server is SQL 2000 so I had to create a SQL Server 2000 database for that. I have an app that uses SQL Server and I want to network it. I have a rather big problem with an application I'm working on and was hoping someone could help me here. MyAccessConn = new OleDbConnection(strAccessConn) Ĭonsole.WriteLine("Error: Failed to create a database connection. String strAccessSelect = "SELECT userid FROM users" string strAccessConn = "Provider=SQLNCLI11 Data Source=10.211.55.7,1433 Network Library=DBMSSOCN Initial Catalog=myDataBase User Id=pos Password=password " My current provider is this: string strAccessConn = "Provider=SQLNCLI11 Data Source=10.211.55.7 Network Library=DBMSSOCN Initial Catalog=myDataBase User Id=pos Password=password " įor reference, this is my source code. I cannot find an appropriate connection string to a Microsoft SQL server, it's the 2014 developer edition.










Sql server connection string network library